America, the Beautiful

Now I am trying out WordPress. We’ll see if I stick with it. Hope you’ll continue to follow!

After almost 3 weeks of being back in America, I have realized a few things:
1) I really missed my family. When you live on the other side of the world and are constantly struggling to find a time to FaceTime because of the 7 hour time difference, it is really comforting to be in the same time zone as the ones you love.
2) I have completely taken for granted the mentors that I had while I was at IU. It is so nice to be able to sit back down and talk face-to-face with the people who I trust the most. I knew I was lucky, but I never knew just how lucky I was until I was able to visit everyone at IU this past weekend for Simchas Torah and Shabbat.
3) It’s not quite as hard as some of us may think to keep 100% kosher in Hog Heaven and Shrimp City. Until this visit home, I had continued to eat cold dairy and parve out at restaurants, but I decided that this time I was going all in. I was a little nervous about coming home with my favorite restaurants from my childhood staring me in the eyes and taunting me with their delicious smells. But I have found that I don’t care nearly as much as I thought I would. In fact, I’ve been able to sit with others while they eat some of my favorites, and I just know that I’m not going to eat it. It’s not even a question in my mind. I really davened for this to be easy for me, and Hashem has really helped me thus far.
4) Some things in America are just not the same in Israel. While some people may be ashamed to admit it, I’m not. I have really missed some of the physicalities that are just better quality in the States. For example, I have enjoyed getting my nails done at a reasonable price, showering with my shoes off, sleeping in a real, comfortable bed, using my favorite scent of laundry detergent, having my body temperature be at a comfortable level at all times of day, and simply being able to pick up and drive ten minutes and go to Target. Some times it really is the little things that make us feel like we are at home. When I travel back to Israel in about a week, I have decided to bring some of the things that make me feel “at home” back to “the homeland” with me. Some of these things include: a 2-month supply of Cliff Bars and Luna Bars, 6-month supply of Sensodyne toothpaste (since it costs roughly $15 a tube in Israel), endless supplies of body wash, face wash, shampoo, and conditioner, and I am even considering bringing a tub of laundry detergent (there’s nothing like that home-laundry, out of the dryer (don’t be fooled, I do not have a dryer in Israel) smell that reminds you of being at home).
5) I am really grateful for the learning that I have been doing in Israel this summer. It’s been weird not learning Torah and being in a Torah environment for the past few weeks. I do find myself feeding off of the d’var Torahs at the Shabbos table more in America, since I have not been submerged in Torah day in and day out.
Overall, I am so thankful that I was able to come home for my cousin’s bar mitzvah (he did a great job, btw). It has been really amazing to see my family, friends, and remind myself of what it was like to live in my own house for a little while. I’m really looking forward to heading back to the homeland soon and seeing what Israel has up it’s sleeve for me in the next few months. Until then, XOXO Frum Girl.
*****I forgot to mention that when I go back to Israel, I WILL ABSOLUTELY NOT MISS having to change the radio station channel when Miley Cyrus’ song “Wrecking Ball” comes on. I used to be a BIG Miley fan. Like I saw the Hannah Montana Concert 3D movie a total of seven times in theaters. But as a frum girl, or any woman for that matter, I have a really hard time seeing her outbursts of what she likes to call “breaking free from Hannah”. Anyways, that was just an aside. XOXO, unproud ex-Miley fan

One thought on “America, the Beautiful

Leave a Reply

