Tips on How to Survive in Jerusalem:

While reading one of my frequented blogs during this blizzard, yes I am still stuck in my apartment: Day 5, I stumbled upon a link to a website called Wisebread. The website was a list of tips about how to survive in NYC. I happen to have a long-time love for New York City, so I decided to click the link. While some of the “tips” were not so kosher, I found a few of them to be quite amusing. Not only were they amusing, but I found myself thinking that any mensch living in NY, Jerusalem, or anywhere in between would already be practicing these tips in their everyday lives. The first tip I found was the following:

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 7.38.44 PM

I found this to be quite entertaining. For as long as I can remember it slowly kills me inside when certain travelers hop on the bus with their falafel/shwarma wraps, but thanks to this blog, I can openly say that I am not the only one, and maybe you should think twice before partaking in this “ein derech eretz” activity. The second:

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 7.39.18 PMHillarious! These are exactly what the seats look like on the Light Rail in Jerusalem. The fact that this is even included on basic tips had me laughing. It’s common courtesy and even expected for young bachurim and sem girls to give up their seats to the elderly or prego ladies (which are fairly common in this part of the world). When I see this come up as a “basic tip”, it not only makes me proud to be from a place where this is the norm, but also gives me hope in society that there are people out there who still believe in the term “Southern Gentleman”, even if they are living in NYC.

And the finale: Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 7.39.42 PMThis one was my favorite. I couldn’t have said it better myself. YOU HEARD IT HERE PEOPLE: LET THE PEOPLE OFF THE TRAIN BEFORE YOU TRY AND GET ON!!! It might even be in everyone’s benefit if you would please step out of the way to allow them more ease when exiting the train/bus. It gives me comfort to know that people in Jerusalem are not the only people in the world with this problem, but I think its clear that this is something that we all really need to work on. Derech Eretz (“the way of the land” or ethics in how to live your daily life) happens to be one of my favorite things to learn and talk about, and this “NYC Basic Tips and Etiquette” article, hit the nail on the head. Even if Wisebread’s intention was not to relate its tips to Judaism, don’t worry, Frum Girl’s always got H-shem on the brain. Hope you enjoy these basic tips for living a nice, Jewish, respectful, polite, normal life whether you live in NYC, Passaic, Monsey, Baltimore, or Jerusalem. Here’s hoping that school will be open and the busses will be running tomorrow! xoxo, Frum Girl

Leave a Reply

