The Negev

Yesterday, we had a full-day trip to the Negev. While we didn’t go camel riding this time, we still managed to have a good time. The first stop was a huge crater that the group proceeded to hike up. If you’re thinking that I don’t seem like the hiking type, you’re correct. I gladly babysat my Rebbetzin’s granddaughter who came along for the tiyul at the bottom and waited for everyone to come back. Girls are complaining they’re sore today, so I’m glad I sat that one out. Next, we went to this sand dune-like area that has a lot of different colors of pretty sand. There was purple, red, white, orange, etc. Going back to my state-fair six-year-old self, I took a jar and proceeded to make a layered sand jar with sand from the Negev. I don’t really have the patience to scrape off all the sand, so mine ended up being more like “rocks” from the Negev. I’m sure my Dad will love whatever I made for him!
Then we went to a place called Ein Yar Ka’am, which is basically a watering hole where people of the desert used to go when they were traveling through. The water is clean enough to drink, and it was pretty cool.

20140108-095903.jpg

20140108-095918.jpg

20140108-095939.jpg

20140108-095956.jpg
Since the Negev is about 3 hours from Jerusalem, I had a lot of time to nap on the bus. We got home around 7 pm after being out since 7 am, so obviously the next step was to go to Burgerim and re-fuel. I finally punched my 10th punch in my frequent buyer card, and my next burger is free! Wahoo! Like I say all the time, it’s a true open miracle that I’m not immensely obese.
This Shabbos I am going with my Rebbetzin from Indiana who is in town to our Rebbetzin in Israel. I’m really looking forward! Have a great rest of your week! Xoxo, Frum Girl

Leave a Reply

