World’s Largest Kugel

On most Thursday nights I like to frequent a catering hall, called Beis Yisrael, in one of the more religious neighborhoods in Jerusalem. You can get everything you need for Shabbos there, and it’s all already cooked. I mostly go for the chocolate and caramel-flavored popcorn they sell. It always seems to be a favorite when we bring it as gifts for our hosts. They happen to have pretty delicious kugels, and I normally buy a piece to eat erev Shabbos as my lunch. Last week while taking my weekly walk-around of the hall I stumbled upon two of the largest kugel masterpieces I had ever seen.

20140207-011406.jpg
It reminds me of the movie Matilda when they make the big kid eat all that chocolate cake. Like come on, who could really dominate that big of a kugel on his own? I’m estimating that a Shabbos table of 30+ would be needed to make a dent. Don’t worry, you can buy the kugels in slices also, so you aren’t faced with the BIG KUGEL CONTEST every time you want a piece of kugel for Shabbos. Basically, Beis Yisrael is the cholent, challah, dessert, fish, meat central on a Thursday night and it’s all l’kavod Shabbos Kodesh! PSA: the seating area is very small, and most people take their food to go.
I’ll be spending Shabbos in the old city with family this week. I’m looking forward to a little R,R,&R. Rest, relaxation, and ruchnius. Have a great Shabbos everyone! I’m back next week with some more regular blogging.

One thought on “World’s Largest Kugel

Leave a Reply

