A very happy Purim

Well, I survived my first Purim in Jerusalem. There was a lot of hype about what to expect, but I think my days of frat hopping and weaving my way through drunk crowds definitely prepared me for the day. I have to say, I thought it would be worse, but as a single, religious girl I did feel uncomfortable being on the streets by myself. Delivering presents (mishloach manot) to different families throughout Har Nof and receiving small presents (my fav was obviously the corned beef sandwich) was one of the best parts of the day.
The director of my school hosted a Purim seudah (meal) for all of the girls in school. So in the later afternoon, we all gathered at their house and continued to drink wine and share in the happiness of being all together on the day. All in all, I had a good experience on Purim. I think being in school really helped me gain a sense of the true meaning of the day.
In other news, I have a few friends that are leaving over the course of this week. It’s definitely hard to see people you care about leave, but it’s also exciting to see where they’ll go next. With half of March already complete, it’s also beginning to settle in that I’m leaving my year in sem in the next 3 weeks. It’s crazy that a year (10 months) can go by so quickly! This place has made such an impact on me, and it will be hard to start a new chapter. While I will spending part of the summer in the States, I do have plans to return to Israel in July. To do what? Well, I’m working on that. And then I have until October to figure out where I’ll settle down for now. So I’ll keep you posted when I actually know myself. Here are a few pictures from around Jerusalem on Purim and Shushan Purim. Hope y’all are having a good time eating all your bread products before Pesach gets here! Xoxo, Frum Girl

20140320-123726.jpg

20140320-123737.jpg

20140320-123742.jpg

20140320-123805.jpg

Leave a Reply

