The start of something new

With the start of Elul, the Jewish month leading up to Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur, I always get a little shock. First of all, how can it already be time for a new year? Second, I’m not ready for a new year!!
This is the time of year when we are meant to work on ourselves especially hard because with the strike of the clock at midnight….just kidding, but really, the Book of Life is opened on Rosh Hashanah and our fates (who will live, who will die Gd forbid, how much money we will make, who will get married) will be sealed for the year on Yom Kippur. A little scary to think about!! Ok, A LOT scary to think about! Maybe seminary just instilled this fear of Elul in me that I can’t shake. It’s probably a good thing! More fear, more need to do teshuva! Although we obviously are meant to work on ourselves and do teshuva all year round, it seems that something in our neshamos (souls) is awakened with Rosh Chodesh Elul.
This year has been different for me because I’m not in seminary anymore. Torah learning and teshuva classes aren’t all around me all the time. I’m now realizing that I’m going to have to work a bit harder to make Elul meaningful for me. A few things I’ve tried are: going to shiurim, saying weekly tehillim, being part of a learning group, making sure to be at shul on Shabbos, and learning a bit more on my own.
While I can’t daven daily at the Kotel for 40 days, I can do what I’m able to do within my reality that is the NYC working life. Gd willing, the coming year will be filled with only good things, brachos, simchas, parnassa, and lots of laughs.
What are you all doing to prepare for the holidays? Please share; I’d love some tips! Xoxo, Frum Girl

Leave a Reply

