Chol Hamoed at Work

For the first time in my life I had to work on Chol Hamoed. At first I wasn’t too thrilled about it since most of my friends were off and frolicking around NJ/NY doing fun, fall activities. I decided that since I had to work, I would make my work week (2 days) a little more special.
On Monday instead of taking my normal train into the city I took a nice ferry ride from Hoboken to Pier 11. I’ve always loved boats, and I thought it would be fun! BH, I was right! Although pretty parve weather, it was still great to be on the water.

IMG_3557.JPG

IMG_3556.JPG

IMG_3554.JPG
It was such a nice way to go into my day. If it weren’t $7 a ride, I’d do it more often!
At lunch, all the girls in the office went to the local Kosher pizza place next to the office. Then we went to a fair on Broadway that was set up just for Chol Hamoed Sukkos!! How nice!

IMG_3564.JPG

IMG_3565.JPG

IMG_3567.JPG

IMG_3566.JPG
Kosher sausage, challah covers, challah boards, and corn straight from East Jerusalem! What more could a girl ask for? As you may have guessed, the festival wasn’t Kosher at all, but it was nice to see things that looked “sort-of” Jewish. The entire street was blocked off, and it was a different way to spend our lunch. The best part was that there was a Mister Softie truck, and that actually is Kosher! You know me; I love my ice cream, especially soft serve with rainbow sprinkles.

IMG_3568.JPG
To top off my Chol Hamoed, I got a Shirley Temple to finish my work day! And although I’ve been 21+ for a few years now, I still will always be a big fan of the classic Shirley Temple :).

IMG_3573.JPG
Overall, it was a different, but pretty nice Chol Hamoed. I may not have been at Six Flags with the rest of the Jewish world, but you’ve got to enjoy what G-d gives you!
I signed up to run the Miami Half-Marathon at the end of January to raise money and awareness for Yachad, a non-profit organization that assists and provides programming and resources for Jewish people with disabilities and helps to educate the larger community about inclusion and disability awareness. Look out for a post after Sukkos. For now, check out the page I made for it on the blog if you want to know more.
Today is Hoshanah Rabbah, a very special day during Sukkos when the Book Of Life is finally closed after being opened on Rosh Hashanah. This day is meant for extra Tehillim and tefillos to H-shem, and G-d willing, when the Book is closed for the year, we will all be sealed for success, health, parnassa, and happiness. Tonight begins the second days of Sukkos, otherwise known as Shemini Atzeres and Simchas Torah. I’m headed to Pittsburgh to be with the Cook family. I’m thrilled to be reunited with the entire clan! I hope this Yom Tov brings only happiness and appreciation for the Torah that H-shem graciously gave us. We really are more blessed than we can ever know.
Look out for everyone joyously dancing with the Torah on Thursday night, you know I’ll be watching. Xoxo, Frum Girl

Leave a Reply

