The Frumbook Nation

Over the past week, The Frum Diaries appears to have expanded well beyond any borders that I had ever expected. People from all over the world have been tuning in, and I think it’s pretty cool. The latest addition to the long list of countries is Grenada. I have to say, I don’t even know what continent Grenada is on!

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 10.31.18 PM
The list of countries that have viewed my blog this week.

I want to share my immense gratitude to everyone that reads my thoughts and opinions. I always need to remind myself and others that the knowledge I have and the insights I get are usually based on other ideas that I’ve heard, and I do try to give credit where credit is due. In any event, I hope that you’re gaining inspiration and a bit of entertainment from my posts. I hope that The Frum Diaries Facebook Page will serve as a place for dialogue and continued inspiration. You can follow my whereabouts and marathon training there as well.

Tonight as I sit in my bed, with my new, beautiful, cheap duvet (pictures to come), there is breaking news that Ebola has made its way to NYC. I work in NYC. The man with Ebola took the 1 train yesterday. I took the 1 train yesterday. This world has seriously climbed to a totally new madrega (level). This is like the movie Contagion with Gwyneth Paltrow. I specifically didn’t go see that movie because I thought it was very creepy and it seemed “too real”. Well, the movie has become a reality, on a smaller scale, and I obviously need to get my two sense in here. 1) I’ve always been a bit of a germophob, and I think it’s time everyone simply washes their hands a bit more often and sneezes/coughs into their own elbows. 2) The dr.’s appear to have the situation fairly under control. I think, for now, before we all start panicking and quarantining ourselves in our homes, we need to take a minute to remember Who really runs this world.

In this week’s parsha, Noach, we have the great flood. H-shem took it upon Himself to wipe out the entire world for their sins. H-shem controlled when the flood started; who lived, who died, and when the flood ended. This, too, shall pass. Although it feels as though we are in the middle of a flood trying to hold aboard a floating raft, we must stay strong in our Emunah because H-shem can, and will, stop this growing epidemic in the blink of an eye. Why is H-shem allowing Ebola to spread as far as it has? That, is a question that my basic, human mind cannot answer. However, I know that if we do our hishtadlus (efforts) to stay healthy and we NEVER FORGET Who really runs this world, we will come out on top in the end. And that, my friends, is where I stand on Ebola this evening. So, yes, I will be getting on the 7:17 am train heading to NYC tomorrow morning. Will I avoid touching anything and everything during my commute? Yes. But I’m not busting out the quarantine suits and face masks just yet. Good night world. Don’t forget Who is always watching and protecting. xoxo, Frum Girl

Leave a Reply

