Race to the Finish

YACHAD banners NEW

You may already know, but I have committed to running the Miami Half-Marathon on January 25, 2015 for Team Yachad and NCSY Alumni. Yachad, The National Jewish Council for Disabilities is a thriving non-profit organization dedicated to addressing the needs of all Jewish individuals with disabilities and ensuring their inclusion in every aspect of Jewish life. The inclusive design aims to ensure persons with diverse abilities their rightful place within the Jewish community, while helping to educate and advocate to the Jewish world for greater understanding, acceptance, outreach, and a pro-disability attitude.(https://miami.teamyachad.com/what-is-yachad/)

Being that I’ve been injured multiple times from athletic injuries, I have never attempted anything like this in the past. It is a HUGE challenge for me, and I am excited to be taking on this uphill battle (the race is actually flat, fewsh!) for such a good cause. I am just now beginning to get into my training, and I hope to post my weekly progress right here, on the blog. Chazal say that H-shem doesn’t present us with challenges that we are not capable of getting through. While run/walking a marathon is not a “life challenge” per say, it is something difficult that I originally did not think was in the hand of cards I’ve been dealt. I believe that through my mental and physical preparations and the support of all of you and my co-workers, this race will be one that I will remember forever. I’m not sure I will be turned into a dedicated marathon runner, although I’m sure my Dad would love that, but I am sure that it will give me a new outlook on hard work and great accomplishments. So please follow my training for next few months from start to the finish line. I’m sure there will be both good and bad days, but I know in the end it will all be worth it. I’m picturing a luxurious massage and a day in a lounge chair on the beach at the finish line. I mean, when in Miami, do as the Miamians do, right?!

In this venture, I will be raising a whopping $2,000 which will go directly to Yachad and my marathon expenses. To sponsor me, you can go to my Marathon Donation Page, or you can visit my Marathon Website for more information about Yachad. Thank you so much for your support, both financially and in your prayers!! I definitely need them! See you on the treadmill! xoxo, Frum Runner Girl (I never thought I’d sign that name!!)

Picture taken from https://miami.teamyachad.com/

Leave a Reply

