I’ll Be Home For Thanksgiving…

If you’ve been following my Instagram and Facebook, you’ll know that I had quite the adventure trying to get home on Wednesday. What was meant to be a 2.5 hour direct flight to Louisville from LGA, ended up being a 14 hour extravaganza in Dallas, Texas. Some of the better parts of the day included American serving Diet Dr. Pepper on the flight, seeing some very interesting Texans (I didn’t want to get shot at while snapping a photo so use your imagination), and reading an entire 200-page novel. While the situation was not my idea of a perfect date, I came out of it with a $300 voucher on American Airlines, so I’d say it was worth it. For sure being home with my doggy and family was worth the wait. There’s nothing like a bestie selfie when you roll in the house at 2 am.

IMG_3763.JPG
Thanksgiving was extra special at my house this year. My dad and step mom worked tirelessly to ensure that the entire dinner was kosher to my standards. BH, everything was delicious and was very kosher! I always get a little nervous with things like this, but with a little micromanaging (sorry Dad) and a lot of love on their part, it all came together very well. Perhaps the yummiest part was the smoked turkey my Dad made on our new “Big Green Egg”. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a thing. Google it. It’s bomb and an elite form of cooking that everyone should try.

IMG_3775.JPG

IMG_3773.JPG

IMG_3766.JPG

IMG_3774.JPG

IMG_3777.JPG
We even had the perfect trio of Thanksgiving pies courtesy of the chefs at the Monogram Experience Center at GE, who took the time to kasher an oven at the MEC so that three out of 40 pies would be kosher. I really am blessed.
After being stuffed to the brim on Thursday, Friday morning we hosted a brunch for 5 of my best friends and their families. I’ve known these girls since kindergarten, and even though we’re all spread out across the country, when we get together it’s like nothing has changed. It takes a rare kind of friendship for this to happen. The past 18 years has been filled with a lot of changes for everyone, but with friends like mine on your team, you always win. We had a great time catching up, and it really felt like we hadn’t spent any time apart.

IMG_3780.JPG

IMG_3785.JPG

IMG_3784.JPG
I missed my 5-year high school reunion on Friday night due to Shabbos. My friends who were there told me that people were asking where I was, to which they replied, “It’s Shabbos!” To which I’m sure they got some blank stares followed with an “Oh yeah, I heard she became a little religious”. LOL I was rolling on the floor when they told me. I was very different growing up than I am now, and it’s always a little funny to hear about people’s reactions. Thank goodness I have great friends who do the explaining for me!
After a much needed, restful Shabbos at home, another entire novel read, and more Thanksgiving leftovers, I finally hit some Black “Weekend” shopping stores this morning. Obviously I got some great steals at J. Crew. It’s not too often that I can find items there at a reasonable price, so I was very excited that I did well this time. Now as I sit at the airport waiting to board my plane back to the Big Apple, I’m reflecting on what a wonderful, long weekend it has been. I’m so fortunate to have parents who support my life choices and to have friends that are behind me every step of the way. The next few weeks are looking like they’re going to be absolutely crazy, and I can’t wait! There’s no slowing this city gal down. But when push comes to shove, I’d take Louisville over the big city any day. You can take the girl out of the South but you can’t take the South out of the girl. Hope y’all had a wonderful weekend with your families and friends. Look out for more posts about the last few weeks of craziness coming soon. Xoxo, Frum Girl

Leave a Reply

