“Settle down, it’ll all be clear”

After a full week of living in Chicago, I decided it was probably time to start posting again. I have been totally off the grid from most of my friends and family, so I hope this will fill in some of the gaps for everyone reading.

Last Wednesday, my Dad and I loaded up Charlotte (my baby Honda Civic), and we began the 13 hour trek to Chicago from NJ. Braving white-out conditions in some parts of Ohio and Indiana, we actually made it in great time. I really don’t enjoy car trips, so I was grateful to make it to my new home. Now, it’s funny that I’ve ended up in Chicago, because I always wanted to live here. I went to Beber Camp in Mukwonago, WI for 12 summers, and most of my friends were from the North Shore suburbs. Ironically, I moved to Passaic hoping to find a NJB (Nice Jewish Boy), and it turns out that I’m marrying a very NJB from Chicago! It’s funny how H-shem works His ways.

After a week of getting “settled” in, I am still not moved in to my apartment, but instead, I have become an adopted, oldest daughter of a wonderful family in West Rogers Park. IKEA delivered most of our furniture yesterday, and now I am just waiting for a bed before I can transition into apartment life. I was a bit worried about sleeping there by myself, but thankfully, my shomeret is coming in town the day that the bed is getting delivered, so I won’t have to!

This really is an exciting time in my life. Even with all the craziness, I’ve found its important to sit back and soak it in at times. Like, I’m actually getting something that I’ve always wanted. And I mean always, like since I was five years old. I can’t imagine being able to make it through this time in my life without the help of all of my family and friends, but I will certainly be glad when my life has a bit of stability again. After going to IKEA 3 times, Walmart, Bed Bath and Beyond, Costco, and continually writing down more “things” that we need, iy”H, my apartment will feel like home in no time.

Our first social event as an engaged couple was my dear friend from Israel’s wedding. Adam and I happen to be friends with both the Chosson (Groom) and Kallah (Bride). It was extra exciting to go, because it was the last wedding we will attend before our own wedding…in just 10 days! The wedding was beautiful, and I am so glad we got to celebrate and dance. I’m not sure how I’m going to dance so much at my own wedding with my ankle and asthma, but I’m sure that something will get figured out. We also had a tasting for the wedding last night. After almost 10 weeks of planning, I finally got to see the hotel where we will get married. I was able to choose the venue based on recommendations and a lot of trust, but it really is going to be an amazing wedding, if I do say so myself. I’m sure I won’t remember most of it, but iy”H, we will have pictures to remember our special day. I’m looking forward to the wedding being over, and starting my life as a married lady. I will now be blogging about the frum, fun, things I do around town in Chicago, so look out for that in the coming weeks. For now, I mostly only go to the Kosher Dunkin’ Donuts and Walmart, but one day, be”H, I will get to venture to the cool part of town.

Here’s hoping everyone has a freilichin Purim! Which reminds me, I NEED TO PLAN MY MISHLOACH MANOS! I’m thinking a wedding theme…will post pictures if my brain ever slows down enough to figure it out. Everyone should be blessed with simcha and bracha in their lives at this especially simchadik time of year! xoxo, Frum Girl

This post is dedicated to my sweet Jersey boy who left us just a week ago. He lost his strong battle with a big tumor. We’re so grateful every day for the 13 wonderful years we had with our sweet muffin.

2 thoughts on ““Settle down, it’ll all be clear”

Leave a Reply

