Born again Balabusta

Balabusta is a Yiddish expression that describes a good homemaker. And if you’ve known me in the past, everyone would know that while I’m great with kids, and I’m very clean…I DON’T COOK. So this whole getting married and wanting to take care of my husband thing was going to be great, except for the whole cooking part. Now, marrying a chef and all, everyone has been saying that I’ll never have to cook. But my wonderful husband chef cooks all day, and I want to take care of him and let him relax when he gets home from work. So as a newlywed, I am taking on the full-blown term of Balabusta, in the kitchen and all! I will admit that we had a full week of sheva brachas where I didn’t have to make dinner at all, and the hubs cooked a delicious meal one night, but I cooked the whole 2 other nights that we needed to eat! And, BH, I didn’t have to drive Adam to the E.R. or anything! Here are a couple of pics from our Sheva Brachas. You can see that we have similar senses of humor, BH.

The first night I decided on Ortega Tacos, because even I can’t mess that up!! It was so easy. I wasn’t sure how to get the ground beef into taco meat thinness at first, but I figured it out. I even made homemade guac, which was “pretty darn good” says my husband chef. Second night I made spaghetti and meatballs. Now, the spaghetti part is fairly simple. You know, boiling water and all. But meatballs can be a challenge. I didn’t have a recipe so I kind of made it up as I went. I threw about 1 lb. of ground beef into a mixing bowl and then threw in a little parsley, basil, garlic powder, and salt. I called my dad in the middle of it all (because he makes a mean meatball), and he said I needed an egg, so I called up one of our wonderful neighbor friends who let me borrow (well, really have) an egg because who keeps eggs in their house anyway? BH, the meatballs came out great. Adam said he even liked my spaghetti and meatballs better than tacos! It’s fun to play Suzy Homemaker! I never liked cooking, but I don’t mind because I’m cooking for someone I love. And if he’s happy, I’m happy! And if he’s eating well, he’s happy!

Last night, we decided we would cook something together. Obviously, it actually ended up that Adam cooked everything, and I was a backseat chef, just like I am in the car and many other aspects of our lives. Basically, our evening in the kitchen culminated with my dear husband asking me kindly to “remove yourself from the kitchen, and take a seat in the living room.” I guess there is such a thing as too many cooks in the kitchen. BH hubby’s honey-mustard chicken and potato wedges were delicious. I think we need to incorporate some more greens into our diet. But that’s next week’s project ;).

We’re nearing our two week anniversary, and I would highly endorse marriage to anyone who questions it. BH, H-shem has blessed me with so much in the past few months, and I can only hope that His Bracha continues to flow, unto me and everyone else. Have a wonderful Shabbos surrounding yourselves with the people you love! xoxo, Frum Balabusta

One thought on “Born again Balabusta

  1. One of your best posts ever. Btw, even when Adam cooks helping with prep is big! Better learn to chop and dice😍

Leave a Reply

