Wifey’s “first” Pesach

While this isn’t technically my “first” Pesach, it is definitely my first Pesach in my new role as wife and apartment renter. We’re gearing up for the big clean. Dun dun dun! It certainly helps to have someone who is well-versed in not only halacha, but also the kitchen, by my side as we count down the days until we are freed from Egypt once again.

So where does the cleaning even start? Clearly I’m a bit behind, as some professional balabustas have been picking up each bread crumb by hand since Purim. The letter of the law says to remove all of the chometz, but many people take that to mean a major spring cleaning. Which is great, but I have to keep reminding myself, that while just moving in to our apartment a mere 4 weeks ago, there can’t be that much major upheaval of dirt to do. So, naturally, I began by making lists on lists on lists of everything that had to get completed. Since I’ve never done this before, my lists on lists on lists ended up being one list of 4 items that I’m sure will expand as we go. Then, I swiftly called Gabriella, my trusty cleaning lady friend, to come on over. Thank goodness, even with all of the overtime work she is doing to get West Rogers Park in tip top shape for the holiday, she was able to come to our apartment yesterday morning. What was meant to be an hour and a half turned into 3 hours, but we are so grateful. Now today while I’m at work, hubby-extraordinaire is doing the big steaming of the countertops and covering. It almost appears that I got out of cleaning for Pesach yet again, but believe me, I’ve been doing my part to rid the pantry of chometz (by eating all of it!). No, really, I did help clean the entire apartment, even before Gabriella came, but super-husband really knows what he’s doing in the kitchen, and who am I to stop a man on a mission?! Ta da! The almost finished product, courtesy of super-husband:  

   

 So be”H, by the end of the day, we will do bedikas chometz (ceremonial checking for chometz), and our apartment will officially be kosher for Pesach! BH, there are many wonderful people in the WRP community who have invited us out for all of the Yom Tov meals, so we only have to worry about two days of Chol Hamoed before we go to Pittsburgh next week! My Pesach shopping trip to Jewel (the grocery store) culminated with 4 jars of pizza sauce, a large salami from Romanian, babaganoush, and one large bag of pizza cheese. Because what else do you eat during Pesach than Matzah Pizza?! But really. That’s all I eat during Pesach. And I’m sure that chef-hubby will be able to spice up my matzah pizza this year with his culinary talent.

In other news, last week, we went to the Signature Room at the John Hancock Building for a date night. It was pretty hopping for a Tuesday night that wasn’t $2 Tuesdays at Kilroy’s. We had a couple of drinks and took customary pictures 95 floors above a beautiful, Chicago at night. Next week, we will take our first road trip together to Pittsburgh for the second days of Pesach. We’re going to visit the Cook family that, you may remember, I helped move to Pittsburgh this past Summer. They were in town for the wedding, but we’re so excited to actually get to visit with them, and play with the kiddies!

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been doing a lot of eating since marrying this chef-husband of mine just less than a month ago. Well, it’s been decided that I am officially changing the eating habits of our family after Pesach. I am also going to work to get on budget, and if you know me at all, you know that this is something I really need to work on! Look for posts about healthy food kicks and how I navigate my way through the withholding of buying.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Pesach. On this holiday where we celebrate our freedom from the Egyptians, we should remember that we were not only slaves in Egypt many years ago. But today, we each have our own personal things to which we are enslaved. Whether it is technology, the TV, lashon hara (gossip), or our credit cards, we all have things that we must work to free ourselves from. At the seder, it is a mitzvah to remember that we were slaves. Not that our ancestors were slaves, but that we ourselves were actually slaves in Egypt. I certainly know that there are things I need to work on within myself in order to truly be “freed” and be able to completely devote myself to H-shem and what He wants. I hope that everyone is freed from their personal slaveries this Pesach, and that with our devotion to Hakadosh Baruch Hu, we merit to bring the redemption, speedily in our days. Chag kasher v’chag sameach to all. xoxo, Frum Matzah Girl

For more information about Pesach/Passover, visit: www.aish.com/h/pes/ 

Leave a Reply

