Take me to Torah!

As you may have experienced yourself, summer can be a difficult time for modesty if you don’t know what to look for or how to look for it. I’m finally beginning to get the hang of shopping for summer clothes. I’ve found that I’m much cooler in the summer in a dress instead of a skirt and top. Even with stockings underneath (which some people opt out of) the swing and movement of a summer dress often keeps me much cooler than other items. When I saw that Nordstrom was promoting a sale for Summer dresses under $150? I said, Yes, please, NORDSTROM. I personally can’t afford to pay over $100 for a dress, and even that would be a big purchase. So I’ve gone through the sale dresses and picked my “Top 8 Under $100” to share with you. A few are even under $50, which, I think, is a pretty reasonable price for a full outfit that is as good quality as Nordstrom products. As always, FREE shipping and FREE returns, and having to deal with the U.S. Postal Service lately, I see the beauty and luxury in this service even more. Without further adieu, here are my top 8 picks (in no particular order):

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 10.27.44 AMScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 10.29.36 AMScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 10.31.25 AMScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 10.34.12 AMScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 10.39.03 AMScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 10.40.36 AMScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 10.42.41 AMScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 10.36.18 AM

NORDSTROM - Shop Summer Dresses under $150

There are definitely pros and cons to sleeves vs. no sleeves, maxi vs. shorter dresses, etc. I find that you can usually take out a hem to make it longer if necessary, or you can throw on a light, tight skirt underneath if need be. I love light, cotton fabrics, and I’m loving the pretty colors Nordstrom has this season. Don’t forget, you get 3% cash back when using Ebates.

Ebates Coupons and Cash Back

I was once told that for every bead of sweat that you release in the summer months due to dressing tzniusly (modestly) you have to remember that each drop is a bracha (blessing) and you are being rewarded for them, whether you can see immediate reward or not. In Judaism, we often do not see immediate reward or punishment for our actions. We must remember that the ultimate prize is knowing that everything that happens to us is a gift from H-shem, whether we see the gift as good or not. I have found that the most difficult part of dressing modestly for me is the thought, solely in my mind, that I stand out from the crowd. When I go into a public place where there aren’t a lot of frum Jews, and I feel like everyone is staring at me because its 95 degrees outside, and I am wearing long sleeves, stockings, and flats instead of a tank top, jean shorts, and flip flops. After a few years of reasoning with myself, I’ve realized that I need to check in with my ego and mymiddos. I’ve come to a few conclusions: 1) People are not staring at me. Although, at times, I’m the spotlight of my own life (which is definitely a work in progress), I’m not the spotlight of, literally, every single person in Louisville, KY. 2) Knowing that this is what H-shem wants from me, keeps me going even in the hottest times. 3) Tznius is not meant to make us suffer. In fact, it is mean to bring out our inner beauty to enhance our lives as a whole. When you look at everything from a positive standpoint rather than a negative one, you begin to see things that you originally thought to be daunting tasks as beautiful mitzvos that we are so fortunate to be given.

During this time of the Omer, the 40 days between the holidays of Pesach and Shavuot, we are meant to work on ourselves even more than normally because we are preparing to receive the Torah on Shavuot. On this holiday, we do not simply remember when we received the Torah at Mt. Sinai thousands of years ago, but we, ourselves, receive the Torah from H-shem year after year on this day. We must be at our best to deserve something as great as the Torah, and many people take on a stringency or learn a new topic during this period of time leading up to Shavuot. This year, I am working on appreciation. Appreciation for everything in my life, including the challenges I am given. I am working on seeing the challenges as gifts and being appreciative for even those. With a new outlook on the events in my daily life, I am working to be a happier person so that I can better serve H-shem and be a better wife, daughter, cousin, niece, granddaughter, and friend to those around me. If you haven’t already, I challenge you to choose something small to work on during this time. Whether it is tznius, appreciation, or a different area of self-improvement, we’re meant to constantly be working on ourselves, and this is a great time to start. I’d love to hear your thoughts, and I certainly hope my dress picks help you in the upcoming summer months. Happy counting everyone!

Frum Girl photo http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-147-5A8CD2EA94FEBD6A655ACB520C8DB520_zpsdgxdsl5v.png

Thank you to Nordstrom for being an affiliate of this post. As always, all opinions are my own. 

2 thoughts on “Take me to Torah!

Leave a Reply

