I take a hiatus every now and again, but I’m not good at that…

She’s baaaaack! Wow, it feels almost surreal to be back online and typing my thoughts here. It has been just over 10 months since my last post, but it feels like an eternity. I will say, there have been numerous times when I have been asked about The Frum Diaries, and I have thought that I will never post again or that my blogging days as I knew them were over. I tried to let the people down “easy”.

But, here I am, trying to get back in the saddle, that is clearly a bit rusty. What’s been going on with me you ask? Well, as you know, I became a mommy to the most wonderful angel on this Earth. Her name is Miriam Sheva, but we call her Miri for short. Now at 10 months old she is full of life, character and keeps us all extremely busy. Her favorite pastimes include: pulling wireless routers out of the wall, putting old Israeli SIM cards in her mouth and waving “hi” and then quickly proceeding to clap for herself.

BH, Chef Hubby is no longer working for Milt’s BBQ. He’s moved on to work in the nursing home industry as a Food Services Director. He comes home with new stories from the senior citizens daily. So far, we get to see him more often as his schedule has been slightly more normalized, so we are really cherishing that extra time.

Now you may ask, “Why now?” Why am I just now deciding that it might be time to ease back in to the life of writing down my thoughts and logging my life? Well, I’ve found that while being a mommy is the most rewarding gift in the world, I have also found that it can be extremely taxing on one’s self-identity. I remember previously blogging and feeling lighter. Writing things down has often been easier for me than speaking my mind, and I believe it to be some sort of a release. I also hope to be able to look back on these posts myself and smile at the memories, whether funny ones or tough ones. So now I am 10 months into my lifelong journey of motherhood, and I hope that by sharing my ideas, thoughts and experiences here that I can not only be a source of chizzuk (strength) and maybe bring a smile to others, but I also think that it will be a place of calm and re-energizing for myself so I can be the best mommy, wife and Jewish woman that H-shem can help me be.

Wishing you all a happy weekend, a wonderful Shabbos and I do hope to be back to normal here soon. I would love to post based on your interests, so please feel free to be in touch!

Leave a Reply

